Sunday, September 23, 2012

In My Mailbox #5

Welcome to In My Mailbox, a weekly meme held every Sunday by The Story Siren. These past few weeks, I received two books, but it's two books I've been craving to get my hands on forever.

The Lost Code by Kevin Emerson

For Review:
Amarok by Angela J. Townsend

I'd love to thank everyone at The Readiacs and Specer Hill Press for these two great ARCs (:
If you guys have read this book, let me know your thoughts or leave a link to your review. Thanks! And happy reading (:

I'm Back!

So, the last few months have been extremely hectic, between balancing the beginning of school, two new jobs, social/relationship life, and having time to handle a blog and read has been a far cry from easy. BUT, school's back in session, and I'm only working one job now, so I'm so glad that I get to start blogging again. I've seriously missed all you guys and ESPECIALLY getting to escape to the dreamworld of reading. Be looking for more posts soon, guys, cuz they're comin'. (:

Wednesday, July 11, 2012

"Waiting on" Wednesday #5

Welcome to "Waiting on" Wednesday, a weekly meme held by Breaking the Spine. This meme is held to showcase upcoming releases that we can't wait to get our hands on. This week I chose a book that sounds so unique and intriguing, I have to get a copy ASAP.

Cold Fury by T.M. Goeglein
Release date: July 24, 2012
Publisher: Putnam Juvenile

Sara Jane Rispoli is a normal sixteen-year-old coping with school and a budding romance--until her parents and brother are kidnapped and she discovers her family is deeply embedded in the Chicago Outfit (aka the mob).
Now on the run from a masked assassin, rogue cops and her turncoat uncle, Sara Jane is chased and attacked at every turn, fighting back with cold fury as she searches for her family. It's a quest that takes her through concealed doors and forgotten speakeasies--a city hiding in plain sight. Though armed with a .45 and 96K in cash, an old tattered notebook might be her best defense--hidden in its pages the secret to "ultimate power." It's why she's being pursued, why her family was taken, and could be the key to saving all of their lives.
Action packed, with fresh, cinematic writing, Cold Fury is a riveting and imaginative adventure readers will devour.

Why I Want This Book:
1.) Uh, can you say unique? How many Young Adult books have been published in the past 5 years that have been about someone against an underground Chicago mob? Not many, if I recall.
2.) Not only is this book about a mob, it's about a girl going against a mob to save her family. I'm hoping she's one of those inspirational and strong female protagonists, because without that, I think the book would be a waste of an incredible plot.
3.) It's all about adventure, and I've been craving a good adventure story without the romance tied in.
4.) I love Chicago. It's a beautiful and intimidating city, and I'd love to read a book all about it.

That's about it, folks. If you wanna learn more, check this book out on Amazon or Goodreads

What are you waiting on this Wednesday? Leave me comments and links! (:

Tuesday, July 10, 2012

Top Ten Tuesdays: Books I Bought Because of Titles or Covers

Welcome to Top Ten Tuesdays, a weekly meme held by The Broke and The Bookish. Each week, we are given a topic to post about, and this week's main topic is a freebie. With that said, I chose to do the topic: Top Ten Books I Bought Because of the Title or Cover. We've all bought books without knowing what they were truly about because it had a eye-catching cover or title, and I'm one of the worst offenders.

  1. Abandon by Meg Cabot: Goodreads /\ Amazon
  2. Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi: Goodreads /\ Amazon
  3. Everneath by Brodi Ashton: Goodreads /\ Amazon
  4. Nightshade by Andrea Cremer: Goodreads /\ Amazon
  5. Possess by Gretchen McNeil: Goodreads /\ Amazon
  6. Hereafter by Tara Hudson: Goodreads /\ Amazon
  7. Shattered Souls by Mary Lindsey:  Goodreads /\ Amazon
  8. Struck by Jennifer Bosworth:  Goodreads /\ Amazon
  9. Wildefire by Karsten Knight:  Goodreads /\ Amazon
  10. Through Her Eyes by Jennifer Archer:  Goodreads /\ Amazon

Well, that's all for this Tuesday. Leave me links and comments! (:

Monday, July 9, 2012

Unraveling the Week: 7/9-7/15

Welcome to Unraveling the Week, a new weekly post that I plan on doing every Monday. This is a post created by me that's meant to give an overview of the many events coming up in the blogging world that I participate in, also including new book releases, cool giveaways, and upcoming book reviews that are in the near future. Since this is my second week doing this, there may be a few flaws that I'll fix up as the weeks progress. This week's post is an overview of things going on between today (July 9th) and Sunday (July 15th). Also, beginning next week, if you would like something that your hold on your blog added to this post so it can be broadcasted, then just contact me via e-mail and I'll be more than happy to add it on here.

New Releases:
So Close to You by Rachel Carter
Release date: July 10, 2012
Publisher: HarperTeen
Amazon | Goodreads
Lydia Bentley has heard stories about the Montauk Project all her life: stories about the strange things that took place at the abandoned military base near her home and the people who've disappeared over the years. Stories about people like her own great-grandfather.
When Lydia stumbles into a portal that transports her to a dangerous and strange new reality, she discovers that all the stories she's ever heard about the Montauk Project are true, and that she's in the middle of one of the most dangerous experiments in history.
Alongside a darkly mysterious boy she is wary to trust, Lydia begins to unravel the secrets surrounding the Project. But the truths behind these secrets force her to question all her choices--and if Lydia chooses wrong, she might not save her family but destroy them . . . and herself.
 The Thing About the Truth by Lauren Barnholdt
Release date: July 10, 2012
Publisher: Simon Pulse
In this humorous love story from the author of Two-Way Street, an unlikely romance is the best sort of surprise—but the wrong secret can ruin everything. Kelsey’s not going to let one mistake ruin her life. Sure, she got kicked out of prep school and all her old friends are shutting her out. But Kelsey’s focused on her future, and she’s determined to get back on track at Concordia High. Isaac’s been kicked out of more schools than he can count. Since his father’s a state senator, Isaac’s life is under constant scrutiny—but Concordia High’s his last stop before boarding school, so Isaac’s hoping to fly under the radar and try to stay put for a change. When Kelsey and Isaac meet, it’s anything but love at first sight. She thinks he’s an entitled brat, and he thinks she’s a stuck-up snob. So it surprises them both when they start to fall for each other. Kelsey’s happy for the first time in months, and Isaac’s never felt this way about anyone before...But nothing’s ever completely perfect. Everyone has secrets, and Isaac and Kelsey are no exceptions. These two may have fallen hard, but there’s one thing that can ruin it all: the truth.
The Foresaken by Lisa M. Stasse
Release date: July 10, 2012
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Amazon | Goodreads
As an obedient orphan of the U.N.A. (the super-country that was once Mexico, the U.S., and Canada), Alenna learned at an early age to blend in and be quiet—having your parents taken by the police will do that to a girl. But Alenna can’t help but stand out when she fails a test that all sixteen-year-olds have to take: The test says she has a high capacity for brutal violence, and so she is sent to The Wheel, an island where all would-be criminals end up.
The life expectancy of prisoners on The Wheel is just two years, but with dirty, violent, and chaotic conditions, the time seems a lot longer as Alenna is forced to deal with civil wars for land ownership and machines that snatch kids out of their makeshift homes. Desperate, she and the other prisoners concoct a potentially fatal plan to flee the island. Survival may seem impossible, but Alenna is determined to achieve it anyway.

Weekly Meme/Posts
Monday: Unraveling the Week by Backwood Reviews
Tuesday: Top Ten Tuesdays by The Broke and the Bookish (Topic: Freebie/Ten Books I Bought Because of the Cover/Title)
Wednesday: "Waiting on" Wednesday #5 by Breaking the Spine
Thursday: What's Next? #2 by IceyBooks (subject to change)
Friday: TGIF #1 by GReads (Topic: Comfort Reads)
Saturday: off day
Sunday: In My Mailbox #4 by The Story Siren

Book Updates and Reviews
Currently, I'm in the middle of reading Starters by Lissa Price. It's a really interesting book so far, definitely a little on the creepy side. If you guys have any comments on this book, leave me one and let me know what you think of it. When I get back from my family visit, I'm going to (hopefully) get my review posted by then. Next on my TBR: Eve by Anna Carey. It looks like a great book. Since the sequel is out, I need to get to reading it. 

There are a few giveaways going on, and mostly everyone knows about I Am A Reader, Not A Writer's giveaway hops. Currently, Kathy, along with Rex Robot Reviews, are hosting the Summer Reads Giveaway hop, lasting from the 6th until the 11th. Click on the picture to see all of the great blogs participating in this hop.

Also this week, another hop is starting, hosted by I Am A Reader, Not A Writer and Tifferz Book Review. I'll be participating in this hop, so keep an eye out for my giveaway post(: This hop starts on July 11th and ends on the 17th. Click on the picture for more details.

Other than that, there isn't too much else going on this week. Like I said in one of my previous posts, I'll be out until Thursday or Friday, but all my posts are scheduled and I can't wait to get back. If you want to leave a comment on this post, please do. Have any suggestions to make this post better or want me to broadcast something of yours? Just let me know(: 

Have a great week, you guys, and happy reading(:

Sunday, July 8, 2012

In My Mailbox #4

Welcome to In My Mailbox, held every Sunday by The Story Siren. This week, I've received a ton of new books and I'm excited to hear your guys' thoughts about them. (:

Unraveling by Elizabeth Norris
Struck by Jennifer Bosworth (ARC)
Starters by Lissa Price (ARC)
Revived by Cat Patrick (not shown in picture)

Evernight by Claudia Gray
Stargazer by Claudia Gray
Hereafter by Tara Hudson
The Goddess Test by Aimee Carter
Tantalize by Cynthia Smith
Girl Parts by John M. Cusick

I would like to thank Megan at Unearthly Reviews for the copies of Unraveling, Struck, and Starters. You're awesome, Meg. Also, I'd like to thank Ruby at Ruby's Reads for the copy of Revived. Thanks, you guys (:

Anyways, I'd love it if I could get a heads up on what you guys think about the book I received this week, like which ones you recommend and what not. Leave me comments and links! (:

Friday, July 6, 2012

Summer Lovin' Giveaway Hop!

Well, hello there(: Welcome to my blog stop on the Summer Lovin' Giveaway Hop, hosted by I Am A Reader, Not A Writer and Tifferz Book Review. I'd like to apologize as I'm making this post ahead of time, and I cannot get the Linky list to work. 

Anyways, this blog hop is all about ROMANCE. That's right, summer lovin'. So, for this giveaway, one winner has the chance to choose one book from the list I'm providing, or if they are 100% sure they don't want any of those book, then they can choose their own book from The Book Depository as long as the book is under $12 dollars and it must have romance in it and approved by me.

The winner will be contacted July 18th via e-mail. If you win, please respond within 48 hours or a new winner will be chosen. 

Now, on to the prizes:

To enter, all you have to do is fill out the Rafflecopter form. I will be verifying the winner, so please don't click "Enter" on the entry unless you've actually done it. Oh, and you have to be 13 years old to enter and live in the US.

Out, again.

So this weekend, and every weekend until the end of August, is something we have locally called the Medieval Fair, which I'm going to be working at. The fair is pretty awesome, and I'm grateful to land a job there. But, because I'll be working, I can't post on the weekends. BUT I will do my best to have the posts scheduled.

Also coming up this week (from the 10th through the 12th or 13th), a friend of mine and I are going to visit with my family and go to a concert, but again there's a downside. I won't have internet connection :( so if you guys need to contact me, send me an e-mail and I'll do my best to reply. I'm going to have all of my posts for the next week scheduled but I'd like to apologize before hand if any one needs to contact me. Like I said, I'll do my best to check my e-mail from my phone, but I can't promise a speedy reply. I'll be back either Thursday or Friday (the 12th or 13th). Thank you guys for understanding and have a great week everyone (: Oh, and happy reading! (:


Welcome to my first post of TGIF (: This post is held every Friday by the awesome blog known to us as Each week, we are asked a question usually related to books. 

This week's question is: 

Which books do you go to for comfort & familiarity? Is there a type of book you seek out when you're needing that extra bit of comfort in your life?

Actually, there are a few books I look for when I need some sort of comfort. A lot of times, it's a dystopian book. I know, quite odd. But usually a dystopian or post-apocalyptic book starts off as chaos and disorder, but by the end of the book, things are solved and I directly relate that to the issue that I'm having. There's chaos and disorder, but everything will work out in the end. Maybe not always as I'd planned BUT it still will. An example?

If you've read the book, you'd understand what I'm talkin' about here.

Another book I'd love to reread because it brings that sense of familiarity to me is The Scorpio Races. I used to ride horses all the time, and I often felt like I could connect with them the way Sean and Puck did in this book. The way that horses are described in this book is incredible, and I feel like Maggie took the words right out of my head and slapped them down into a book. When I think of horses and stables, I'm comforted by it. The smell of hay, the breeze hitting your face while you ride, it's just a comforting feeling, and when I read this book, it brought a sense of familiarity to me, which might be why I loved the book so much. 
If you don't believe me, read my review for it here.

Anyways, that's about it. Of course there are a few others I look to for comfort and such, but books such as the ones listed above are my main go-to's for some warm chicken soup on a cold night.

What books bring you comfort? Leave me comments and links! (:

Thursday, July 5, 2012

I'm back!

So, my camping trip lasted a little longer than planned, but I'm back and I'm going to start posting again ASAP. Thank you to all my awesome followers(: You guys made me really eager to get back and get blogging again. (:

Expect some new posts really friggin' soon!

Thursday, June 28, 2012

Quick Update: 6/28/12

Hey guys, 
I'm really sorry I haven't been posting lately. I was dragged away this weekend to go out of town and now this weekend, I'm going on a family camping trip so I'm not going to be able to post until Sunday. I've had blogging withdrawal these past few days and I wanted to apologize to my awesome followers/readers. I'll be back Sunday and I hope everyone has a great rest of the week and weekend! (: Oh, and happy reading. 

Saturday, June 23, 2012

The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater: Review

Title: The Scorpio Races
Author: Maggie Stiefvater
Genre: Fantasy, YA
Release date: October 18, 2011
Publisher: Scholastic Inc.
Series: No
Source: Gifted
409 pages

It happens at the start of every November: the Scorpio Races. Riders attempt to keep hold of their water horses long enough to make it to the finish line. Some riders live. Others die.
At age nineteen, Sean Kendrick is the returning champion. He is a young man of few words, and if he has any fears, he keeps them buried deep, where no one else can see them.
Puck Connolly is different. She never meant to ride in the Scorpio Races. But fate hasn’t given her much of a chance. So she enters the competition — the first girl ever to do so. She is in no way prepared for what is going to happen.
WHY I PICKED THIS BOOK UP:  This was originally a gift from a friend of mine, and I'm not exactly sure why I waited so long to pick this from my shelf. After a post I had last week that asked some of my readers which book I should read and the majority picked this book, I figured it was time to read it.

THE MAIN CHARACTERS: I loved every character in this book because of the setting. Being in Thisby changed the way the islanders acted and their lifestyle. Every character in this book was an essential piece to the story. Dory Maud and her sisters, Mutt Malvern (Sean's "rival"), Gabe and Finn (Puck's brothers) were all extremely important and I love that Maggie didn't make the story only about the two main characters. She incorporated just more than just two people and their struggles; she added secondaries into the story which made it so much more interesting.

First of all, Kate "Puck" Connolly is pretty much made of piss and vinegar. She's smart, and she knows what she's talking about when it comes to horses. Well, land horses, that is. She's a red-head that can come up with a smart remark at the crack of a whip, but not in a cocky way. As some people say in the the book, she "bites", which made me laugh since the capaill uisce bite. She a very strong female protagonist and her bravery throughout the whole book is so admiring. She knows what she wants, and nothing, not even most of the island of Thisby, can stop her from getting it. Plus, she's in check with her emotions, which is a great plus because I think whiny lead characters are a huge let-down in any book. I could go on and on about why I loved her as a character.

Secondly, Sean Kendrick. He's... swoon-worthy. He's so dark and mysterious and fascinating and...ugh, just amazing. In the book, he's the go-to guy for the capaill uisce (which I should mention means "water horse" in the book) at Malvern's stables, and the way he works with these horses is incredible. There are a few parts in the book that he does things are jaw-dropping. Also, he's someone who likes to control his emotions, but becomes unraveled around Puck, which shows how crazy he is about her/cares about her. His love of racing comes from Corr, his dad's and his capall uisce. Again, he's another character I admire because of the dedication he puts into racing, Corr, and anything he loves.

THE ROMANCE: The romance in The Scorpio Races isn't typical to most of the novels I usually read, and it was nice to take a break from the norm. Sean and Puck's relationship was very different. They spent time together often, but it wasn't cuddling, it was training for the races. Their love for each other was built around their love for their horses. They both had something to lose in the race, but were willing to risk pretty much everything for each other. I loved their relationship, it was intense and different, and it was the delicious icing on the November cake.

THE PLOT: The whole plot of this book was amazing. I haven't and probably will never again read anything like this book. The main plot revolves around the Scorpio Races each November, and the stress that the whole island of Thisby goes through. Maggie had no problem describing the transformation Thisby and the islanders went through when the race time came around. Also, the whole book was about horses. I'm a huge horse person, and I used to ride whenever I got the chance, and when I found a book that was based off of an old myth about magical water horses coming from the sea and then being ridden, I HAD to read it. The plot was overall fantastic and this book is so utterly unique. I loved it.

THE ENDING: The ending of this book was just intense. I would not, scratch that, would not put this book down during the last 50 pages. I was going crazy inside from anticipation just wanting to know about what was going to happen. The ending was partially what I expected, but there was a twist to it that made my jaw drop. But, I loved the ending. In my opinion, it was a great way to finish off a great story.

ANY OTHER COMMENTS: The story was great. It was written in both Puck and Sean's perspective, switching usually every other chapter. Maggie Stiefvater had no problem making me feel like I was in the book as an onlooker. Her descriptions weren't overbearing or lacking, they were perfect. Her writing was fantastic, just as it was in The Wolves of Mercy Falls trilogy. For any one who loves horses, please, I beg of you, borrow, buy, rent, do something to get this book because you will be missing a flippin' fantastic read if you don't. I don't have one bad thing to say about this book, and I think everyone and anyone should read it.