Sunday, September 23, 2012

In My Mailbox #5

Welcome to In My Mailbox, a weekly meme held every Sunday by The Story Siren. These past few weeks, I received two books, but it's two books I've been craving to get my hands on forever.

The Lost Code by Kevin Emerson

For Review:
Amarok by Angela J. Townsend

I'd love to thank everyone at The Readiacs and Specer Hill Press for these two great ARCs (:
If you guys have read this book, let me know your thoughts or leave a link to your review. Thanks! And happy reading (:

I'm Back!

So, the last few months have been extremely hectic, between balancing the beginning of school, two new jobs, social/relationship life, and having time to handle a blog and read has been a far cry from easy. BUT, school's back in session, and I'm only working one job now, so I'm so glad that I get to start blogging again. I've seriously missed all you guys and ESPECIALLY getting to escape to the dreamworld of reading. Be looking for more posts soon, guys, cuz they're comin'. (:

Wednesday, July 11, 2012

"Waiting on" Wednesday #5

Welcome to "Waiting on" Wednesday, a weekly meme held by Breaking the Spine. This meme is held to showcase upcoming releases that we can't wait to get our hands on. This week I chose a book that sounds so unique and intriguing, I have to get a copy ASAP.

Cold Fury by T.M. Goeglein
Release date: July 24, 2012
Publisher: Putnam Juvenile

Sara Jane Rispoli is a normal sixteen-year-old coping with school and a budding romance--until her parents and brother are kidnapped and she discovers her family is deeply embedded in the Chicago Outfit (aka the mob).
Now on the run from a masked assassin, rogue cops and her turncoat uncle, Sara Jane is chased and attacked at every turn, fighting back with cold fury as she searches for her family. It's a quest that takes her through concealed doors and forgotten speakeasies--a city hiding in plain sight. Though armed with a .45 and 96K in cash, an old tattered notebook might be her best defense--hidden in its pages the secret to "ultimate power." It's why she's being pursued, why her family was taken, and could be the key to saving all of their lives.
Action packed, with fresh, cinematic writing, Cold Fury is a riveting and imaginative adventure readers will devour.

Why I Want This Book:
1.) Uh, can you say unique? How many Young Adult books have been published in the past 5 years that have been about someone against an underground Chicago mob? Not many, if I recall.
2.) Not only is this book about a mob, it's about a girl going against a mob to save her family. I'm hoping she's one of those inspirational and strong female protagonists, because without that, I think the book would be a waste of an incredible plot.
3.) It's all about adventure, and I've been craving a good adventure story without the romance tied in.
4.) I love Chicago. It's a beautiful and intimidating city, and I'd love to read a book all about it.

That's about it, folks. If you wanna learn more, check this book out on Amazon or Goodreads

What are you waiting on this Wednesday? Leave me comments and links! (:

Tuesday, July 10, 2012

Top Ten Tuesdays: Books I Bought Because of Titles or Covers

Welcome to Top Ten Tuesdays, a weekly meme held by The Broke and The Bookish. Each week, we are given a topic to post about, and this week's main topic is a freebie. With that said, I chose to do the topic: Top Ten Books I Bought Because of the Title or Cover. We've all bought books without knowing what they were truly about because it had a eye-catching cover or title, and I'm one of the worst offenders.

  1. Abandon by Meg Cabot: Goodreads /\ Amazon
  2. Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi: Goodreads /\ Amazon
  3. Everneath by Brodi Ashton: Goodreads /\ Amazon
  4. Nightshade by Andrea Cremer: Goodreads /\ Amazon
  5. Possess by Gretchen McNeil: Goodreads /\ Amazon
  6. Hereafter by Tara Hudson: Goodreads /\ Amazon
  7. Shattered Souls by Mary Lindsey:  Goodreads /\ Amazon
  8. Struck by Jennifer Bosworth:  Goodreads /\ Amazon
  9. Wildefire by Karsten Knight:  Goodreads /\ Amazon
  10. Through Her Eyes by Jennifer Archer:  Goodreads /\ Amazon

Well, that's all for this Tuesday. Leave me links and comments! (:

Monday, July 9, 2012

Unraveling the Week: 7/9-7/15

Welcome to Unraveling the Week, a new weekly post that I plan on doing every Monday. This is a post created by me that's meant to give an overview of the many events coming up in the blogging world that I participate in, also including new book releases, cool giveaways, and upcoming book reviews that are in the near future. Since this is my second week doing this, there may be a few flaws that I'll fix up as the weeks progress. This week's post is an overview of things going on between today (July 9th) and Sunday (July 15th). Also, beginning next week, if you would like something that your hold on your blog added to this post so it can be broadcasted, then just contact me via e-mail and I'll be more than happy to add it on here.

New Releases:
So Close to You by Rachel Carter
Release date: July 10, 2012
Publisher: HarperTeen
Amazon | Goodreads
Lydia Bentley has heard stories about the Montauk Project all her life: stories about the strange things that took place at the abandoned military base near her home and the people who've disappeared over the years. Stories about people like her own great-grandfather.
When Lydia stumbles into a portal that transports her to a dangerous and strange new reality, she discovers that all the stories she's ever heard about the Montauk Project are true, and that she's in the middle of one of the most dangerous experiments in history.
Alongside a darkly mysterious boy she is wary to trust, Lydia begins to unravel the secrets surrounding the Project. But the truths behind these secrets force her to question all her choices--and if Lydia chooses wrong, she might not save her family but destroy them . . . and herself.
 The Thing About the Truth by Lauren Barnholdt
Release date: July 10, 2012
Publisher: Simon Pulse
In this humorous love story from the author of Two-Way Street, an unlikely romance is the best sort of surprise—but the wrong secret can ruin everything. Kelsey’s not going to let one mistake ruin her life. Sure, she got kicked out of prep school and all her old friends are shutting her out. But Kelsey’s focused on her future, and she’s determined to get back on track at Concordia High. Isaac’s been kicked out of more schools than he can count. Since his father’s a state senator, Isaac’s life is under constant scrutiny—but Concordia High’s his last stop before boarding school, so Isaac’s hoping to fly under the radar and try to stay put for a change. When Kelsey and Isaac meet, it’s anything but love at first sight. She thinks he’s an entitled brat, and he thinks she’s a stuck-up snob. So it surprises them both when they start to fall for each other. Kelsey’s happy for the first time in months, and Isaac’s never felt this way about anyone before...But nothing’s ever completely perfect. Everyone has secrets, and Isaac and Kelsey are no exceptions. These two may have fallen hard, but there’s one thing that can ruin it all: the truth.
The Foresaken by Lisa M. Stasse
Release date: July 10, 2012
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Amazon | Goodreads
As an obedient orphan of the U.N.A. (the super-country that was once Mexico, the U.S., and Canada), Alenna learned at an early age to blend in and be quiet—having your parents taken by the police will do that to a girl. But Alenna can’t help but stand out when she fails a test that all sixteen-year-olds have to take: The test says she has a high capacity for brutal violence, and so she is sent to The Wheel, an island where all would-be criminals end up.
The life expectancy of prisoners on The Wheel is just two years, but with dirty, violent, and chaotic conditions, the time seems a lot longer as Alenna is forced to deal with civil wars for land ownership and machines that snatch kids out of their makeshift homes. Desperate, she and the other prisoners concoct a potentially fatal plan to flee the island. Survival may seem impossible, but Alenna is determined to achieve it anyway.

Weekly Meme/Posts
Monday: Unraveling the Week by Backwood Reviews
Tuesday: Top Ten Tuesdays by The Broke and the Bookish (Topic: Freebie/Ten Books I Bought Because of the Cover/Title)
Wednesday: "Waiting on" Wednesday #5 by Breaking the Spine
Thursday: What's Next? #2 by IceyBooks (subject to change)
Friday: TGIF #1 by GReads (Topic: Comfort Reads)
Saturday: off day
Sunday: In My Mailbox #4 by The Story Siren

Book Updates and Reviews
Currently, I'm in the middle of reading Starters by Lissa Price. It's a really interesting book so far, definitely a little on the creepy side. If you guys have any comments on this book, leave me one and let me know what you think of it. When I get back from my family visit, I'm going to (hopefully) get my review posted by then. Next on my TBR: Eve by Anna Carey. It looks like a great book. Since the sequel is out, I need to get to reading it. 

There are a few giveaways going on, and mostly everyone knows about I Am A Reader, Not A Writer's giveaway hops. Currently, Kathy, along with Rex Robot Reviews, are hosting the Summer Reads Giveaway hop, lasting from the 6th until the 11th. Click on the picture to see all of the great blogs participating in this hop.

Also this week, another hop is starting, hosted by I Am A Reader, Not A Writer and Tifferz Book Review. I'll be participating in this hop, so keep an eye out for my giveaway post(: This hop starts on July 11th and ends on the 17th. Click on the picture for more details.

Other than that, there isn't too much else going on this week. Like I said in one of my previous posts, I'll be out until Thursday or Friday, but all my posts are scheduled and I can't wait to get back. If you want to leave a comment on this post, please do. Have any suggestions to make this post better or want me to broadcast something of yours? Just let me know(: 

Have a great week, you guys, and happy reading(:

Sunday, July 8, 2012

In My Mailbox #4

Welcome to In My Mailbox, held every Sunday by The Story Siren. This week, I've received a ton of new books and I'm excited to hear your guys' thoughts about them. (:

Unraveling by Elizabeth Norris
Struck by Jennifer Bosworth (ARC)
Starters by Lissa Price (ARC)
Revived by Cat Patrick (not shown in picture)

Evernight by Claudia Gray
Stargazer by Claudia Gray
Hereafter by Tara Hudson
The Goddess Test by Aimee Carter
Tantalize by Cynthia Smith
Girl Parts by John M. Cusick

I would like to thank Megan at Unearthly Reviews for the copies of Unraveling, Struck, and Starters. You're awesome, Meg. Also, I'd like to thank Ruby at Ruby's Reads for the copy of Revived. Thanks, you guys (:

Anyways, I'd love it if I could get a heads up on what you guys think about the book I received this week, like which ones you recommend and what not. Leave me comments and links! (:

Friday, July 6, 2012

Summer Lovin' Giveaway Hop!

Well, hello there(: Welcome to my blog stop on the Summer Lovin' Giveaway Hop, hosted by I Am A Reader, Not A Writer and Tifferz Book Review. I'd like to apologize as I'm making this post ahead of time, and I cannot get the Linky list to work. 

Anyways, this blog hop is all about ROMANCE. That's right, summer lovin'. So, for this giveaway, one winner has the chance to choose one book from the list I'm providing, or if they are 100% sure they don't want any of those book, then they can choose their own book from The Book Depository as long as the book is under $12 dollars and it must have romance in it and approved by me.

The winner will be contacted July 18th via e-mail. If you win, please respond within 48 hours or a new winner will be chosen. 

Now, on to the prizes:

To enter, all you have to do is fill out the Rafflecopter form. I will be verifying the winner, so please don't click "Enter" on the entry unless you've actually done it. Oh, and you have to be 13 years old to enter and live in the US.